Azerbaijani Parliament Ratifies Readmission Agreement with EU

The Azerbaijani parliament has ratified the agreement ‘On the readmission of persons residing without authorization in the EU countries’, signed with the EU.

The chairman of the parliamentary committee on legal policy and state building, Ali Huseynli briefed the MPs about the document.

Under the document, Azerbaijan undertakes new obligations to the EU on readmission of the Azerbaijani citizens illegally residing in the EU countries and other related obligations.

Azerbaijan and the EU signed a visa facilitation agreement during the EU summit in Vilnius in November 2013. Azerbaijan signed a readmission agreement with the European Union on Feb.28.

The signing of the visa facilitation and readmission agreements are envisaged by the EU Eastern Partnership program aimed at closer cooperation of the EU with six former Soviet republics – Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,