Check if You Can Enter Georgia and Stay for a Year Visa-Free

Georgia has revealed more details of the country’s new visa regulations and announced which countries do not need a visa to enter Georgia and stay here for 360 days.

See the full list of countries eligible in the visa-free regime below.

Under the new rules, which were already adopted, citizens from 94 countries can enter Georgia and stay for a maximum of 360 days.

This decision was a revision of the Georgian Government’s earlier decision, which said citizens from these 94 countries were able to enter Georgia without a visa however they could only stay for a maximum of 90 days in a 180 day period. This law came into effect in September 1, 2014.

Back then, people who wished to spend time in Georgia longer than the 90 day allocated period had to apply for a Georgian visa from a Georgian Embassy or Consulate in a person’s home country. Or if the person was already in Georgia, they could apply for an appropriate visa from the Public Service Hall.

Meanwhile, when planning a longer visit to Georgia all citizens were required to obtain an immigration visa, regardless of nationality. But according to the new change, citizens from the selected 94 countries do not need a short-term visa or an immigration visa to enter and stay in Georgia for a year.

Meanwhile under the new regulations, citizens of European Union (EU) member states may enter Georgia with a travel document as well as with an ID card that is issued by an EU member state and contains the person’s name, surname, date of birth and a photo.

Entering Georgia and staying for 360 days is also possible for citizens who hold a United Nations (UN) Laissez-Passer, a travel document issued by the UN or its specialised agencies.

Meanwhile citizens of countries who still need a visa to enter Georgia can apply for a visa online. This service is available here.


Tags: , , , , ,