Suspension mechanism and visa waiver for Georgia to be adopted on February, 27, trilogue on Ukraine starts next day – journalist

Coreper will approve visa liberalisation for Georgia and suspension mechanism on the 22nd of February, and Council of the EU will adopt the decisions on the 27th of February, journalist Rikard Jozwiak wrote in Twitter.

Trilogue on visa waiver for Ukraine will take place on February, 28, immediately after suspension mechanism is adopted by Council of the EU, he added.

Earlier COREPER has stated that trilogue on visa waiver for Ukraine should start after the revised suspension mechanism is adopted by EU institutions.

Under the visa exemption, Georgians and Ukrainians who hold a biometric passport will be able to enter the EU without requesting a visa for 90 days in any 180-day period, for business, tourist or family purposes.

The visa waivers apply to the Schengen area, which includes 22 EU member states (all except Ireland, the United Kingdom, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania and Bulgaria) plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.