First visa-free travel to EU from Georgia (video)

Visa waiver with the EU has entered into force on March 28 in Georgia. Georgian citizens who hold biometric passports can now travel without visa to countries of Schengen zone.

First symbolic visa-free travel was conducted by a group of Georgian students who flew to Athens together with country’s prime minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili.

According to Georgia-online, Georgian minister of internal affairs Giorgi Mgebrishvili issued an order instructing employees of all border checkpoints to conduct a detailed interview with citizens leaving Georgia to the Schengen countries. Border guards will advise citizens and check their travel documents for compliance with the requirements of the Schengen zone.

Photo: Celebration in Georgia, Facebook Giorgi Kvirikashvili