Posted on 03.05.2011 in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, News, Russia, Ukraine

03.05.2011: Inauguration of EuroNest

EuroNest logo


After months of preparations MEPs and representatives from EaP countries inaugurated EURONEST parliamentary Assembly.

The first EuroNest Parliamentary Meeting was held in Brussels on Tuesday, 3 May. The meeting brought together MEPs with parliamentarians from five Eastern Partnership Countries. The Parliamentary Assembly will consist of legislators from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. Jerzy Buzek,  the President of the European Parliament, said in his opening remarks “Unfortunately, Euronest’s inauguration will take place without the participation of Belarus. I hope that this is only a transitional state, not the ultimate solution. Parliamentarians of Belarus are welcome, but only if free elections will become a reality. We need to see the democratic process happening.”

Since it was the first meeting of this new body, the main items on the agenda were the adoption of  rules of procedure, the election of co-presidents, the bureau and working groups, and the signature of the constituent act.  Participants also heard a welcoming address from EP President Jerzy Buzek.

The EuroNest Parliamentary Assembly (PA) consists of 60 MEPs and 10 MPs from each of the EaP countries except for Belarus. Its role is to provide a parliamentary dimension to the EU’s Eastern Partnership. The EP Delegation is led by Kristian Vigenin (S&D, BG). The EuroNest PA was conceived almost two years ago, but it is only now holding its constituent meeting.

Source: EURONEST blog, EP