Posted on 18.10.2011 in Belarus, Featured, News

16 Belarusians more on EU travel ban list

EU Council decided to maintain or even reinforce restrictive measures towards Belarusian authorities, adding another 16 names to the travel ban list.

Following the Foreign Affairs Council meeting in Luxembourg, the Council of the European Union decided to prolong existing restrictive measures towards Belarus until 31 October 2012. Moreover, 16 additional names were added to the list of those responsible for the repression of the political opposition, the independent media and civil society. The list contains currently 192 names of Belarusian officials subject to visa ban and assets freeze. The assets of several companies linked to the regime are frozen as well.

photo by The Council of the European Union 2011
photo by The Council of the European Union 2011

In her remarks EU High Representative Catherine Ashton stated clearly that “we are not at this stage ready to consider any renewed dialogue until we see the release and rehabilitation of all political prisoners.[…] I really hope that what we have seen recently is a positive sign that the Belarusian authorities are now prepared to release and rehabilitate the rest of the prisoners in order that we can move forward and if they were to do that we would of course be able to engage.”

Source: BelaPAN,, EU Council