Posted on 17.04.2012 in News, Russia, Ukraine

Ukrainian-Russian border crossing agreement comes into force

The agreement between the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine and the Government of the Russian Federation on the procedure for crossing the Ukrainian-Russian state border by residents of border regions of the two countries, which was signed on October 18, 2011, has entered into force.

From now on, residents of frontier areas of both countries can cross the border through international, interstate and local checkpoints of the region, where they live, and can stay in the territory of the region of the neighboring states, which they entered through a checkpoint, without registration and without filling in migration cards for the period of up to 90 days.

Russian-Ukrainian border crossing

“Residents of border regions can cross the border on foot, on bicycles, motorcycles, passenger carriages, motor cars, and boats belonging to them, as well as by interstate public road transport and ferry connections within the border regions, and can bring with them goods not intended for industrial or other commercial activities, in the amount not exceeding the maximum allowed by law without paying customs duties and taxes,”  – Ukrainian Foreign Ministry’s press service reported on Tuesday.

This agreement applies to Ukrainian citizens residing in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea, Donetsk region, Luhansk region, Sumy region, Kharkiv region, Chernihiv region, and Russians from Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Krasnodar, Kursk and Rostov regions.

The Verkhovna Rada ratified the agreement on February 22 2012. Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych signed the document on March 13.

Source: KyivPost