Posted on 16.06.2012 in Featured, News, Russia

Putin signed an agreement with Poland on local border traffic

On June 14 President Vladimir Putin signed a  ratification act of the agreement between Russia and Poland on local border traffic. The agreement  allows residents of the border zone to cross the Polish-Russian border frequently, and to stay in the another country’s zone without a visa.

The law specifies the local border traffic rules i.a. conditions for crossing the border, the rules and length of stay in the border area, terms and conditions for issuing permits to cross the border, the fees for a permit, sanctions against those who violate the rules of local border traffic. Facilitating border crossing will ease the Schengen barrier and will contribute to the  increasing social interaction, cultural and economic relations between the two countries.

On the Polish side the agreement covers the following regions: part of Pomorskie (Gdynia, Gdańsk, Sopot) and poviats of Puck, Gdansk, Malbork, Nowy Dwór and, in Warmia-Mazury: Elbląg and poviats of Bartoszyce, Lidzbark,  Olsztyn, Ketrzyn , Mrągowo, Węgorzewo, Giżycko, Goldap and Olecko. On the Russian side the frontier zone would be the Kaliningrad Oblast.

The agreement on local border traffic between Kaliningrad and part of Pomorze and Warmia-Mazury was signed on 14 December 2011 in Moscow by the MFA’s ofPoland and Russia, Radoslaw Sikorski and Sergei Lavrov. Putin put the signature on the document on Thursday, the act was published on Friday on the government’s portal which is equivalent to the Polish Journal of Laws. The State Duma ratified the agreement on 25 May, and the Federation Council approved it on June 6. In Poland the agreement has also undergone the procedure of ratification.

Source: Gazeta Wyborcza