Posted on 14.01.2013 in Armenia, Featured, News

Armenia unilaterally lifts visas for EU states

The citizens of 27 EU-member countries and four non-member but Schengen Acquis countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) can arrive in Armenia without visa requirements. The decision comes into effect starting from Thursday.

The decision was approved by the Armenian government in October 2012.

The EU and Armenia signed a visa facilitation agreement at a ceremony that took place in Brussels on December 17. The agreement makes it easier and cheaper for citizens of Armenia, in particular those who travel most, to acquire short-stay visas allowing them to travel to and freely throughout the EU

European Commissioner Stefan Fule expressed his gratitude toward the decision of the Armenian during his meeting with the Speaker of the Armenian parliament Hovik Abrahamyan in Brussels.  During the meeting, the sides discussed prospects of development of relations between Armenia and EU highly assessing the positive dynamics of the political dialogue. It was noted that progress in Armenia-EU negotiation process on signing Association agreement and Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area was registered. The sides expressed their readiness to complete the talks in 2013.