Poland Hopes for EU Approval of Visa-Free Travel for Ukrainians

Poland supports Ukrainian application for visa-free travel to the 26-country Schengen area, President Bronisław Komorowski said during his visit to Kiev.

Speaking at a joint press conference with Komorowski, Ukraine’s President Petro Poroshenko named the issue of visa-free travel as one of his top two priorities for the May summit of the so-called “Eastern Partnership”, which groups the EU with post-Soviet European countries, such as Ukraine or Belarus.

Poland gave up control of its visa policy, when joining the Schengen area, where passport and all other border controls have been abolished. All EU member states, except the UK, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia belong to the visa union, alongside Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechstenstein.

Source: thenews.pl

Tags: , , , , , , , ,